Tator Tot Hotdish

DSC_0151 copy copy

There’s only one other type of meal in the winter time that’s better than soup and that’s hotdish. I mean the name of hotdish explains itself. It’s hot. It’s in a dish. And yes, I called it a hotdish, because that’s what we call it up here in Minnesota, doncha know now.

And in the wonderful world I live in now, it’s a great time to be eating something like this. The part of the state of Minnesota that I live in unfortunately is having yet another snow storm. This one is fun because we first got some sleet, then its supposed to snow between 3-17 inches. Yes I said 3-17. Every meteorologist in the state of Minnesota can’t pinpoint the amount of snow we’re expected because the weather models are all so different. And since the storm didn’t start until later than expected we’re in for an interesting day. I’m praying that it stops snowing later tonight and doesn’t pick up tomorrow because Mr. N and I have plans gosh darn it! So it is very much winter still here.

^Tangent

Sorry.

Today I bring you Tator Tot Hotdish. No, it’s not your Grandma’s hot dish, though it’s probably similar. I add in a little something to make mine special.

Can you guess what it is?

Hehehee.

It’s cheese!

DSC_0116 copy

Yup. I love my cheese! Cheese makes everything better. And chocolate. But that I think might make tater tot hotdish a bit weird. I’m not going to try it either.

And that’s not just any ordinary cheese, that’s Velveeta. MMmmm Velveeta.

Anywho, this recipe super-duper easy. If you already know how to make tator tot hotdish then adding the cheese isn’t all difficult. If not, stick around.

First you’re gonna want to brown your beef, or turkey if you’re being healthy. I use beef because well a.) I like beef, and we have a quarter of a cow in our freezer (probably not so much of the quarter anymore) and b.) I paid for that quarter of a cow, Imma going to use it!

DSC_0119 copy

I usually throw in some chopped onion to give the beef a bit o’ flavor.

While you’re browning your beef (turkey) you can cut up your Velveeta into cubes. Then throw it into a saucepan with a can of cream of something, I suggest using mushroom soup or possibly celery, and then fill that can you had, half full of milk. Heat that on medium-low heat to melt the cheese.

DSC_0120 copy

DSC_0127 copy

Once your meat is browned throw it into a baking dish, this one I got at my garage sale finds last year. Then you can add in your veggies. I usually get the mixed veggies without lima beans but as you can see, there are some in there. Sad face.

Pour that cheesy goodness over the meat and veggies and give that good mix.

DSC_0133 copy

Drippy!

DSC_0134 copy

Throw some tots on top and chuck it into the oven. Ok, don’t really chuck it, that would make a huge mess. I don’t want to be responsible for any messes in ovens, because I hate cleaning ovens.

DSC_0137 copy

DSC_0148 copy

DSC_0151 copy

It is sooo yummy in my tummy. This was and still kind of is my favorite meal. My mom used to make it all the time growing up.

Tator Tot Hotdish

1 pound of beef (turkey)

1 can of cream of  mushroom/celery soup

4-8 oz of Velveeta Cheese

Tator Tots

1/2 can milk

your favorite frozen veggies

chopped onion (optional)

I’m going to warn you, I don’t have exact measurements for the cheese, tots and veggies. Use as much as you want. If you want to use less cheese go for it. I love cheese so I used a full 8 oz and if you wan to use more, use more! I just threw as much veggies and tots as I saw fit.

Instructions

Preheat oven to 375°. Brown beef (turkey) until no longer pink, you can throw in some chopped onion if you’d like. Cut up Velveeta into cubes. Put into medium saucepan with can of soup, and half a can of milk. Heat on medium-low heat until cheese is melted. Pour beef into casserole dish approximately 2 quarts, and then put veggies on top. Pour cheese mixture on top and mix up. Throw some tots on top of everything. Put in a preheated oven and bake for about 45 minutes or until tots are golden brown.  Serve with homemade buns, bread or biscuits!

2 thoughts on “Tator Tot Hotdish

Leave a Reply

