Three Cheese Sausage Lasagna

How are we friends?

I’m well. This last weekend was a doozy for me and the Mister.

Oy.

I’ll try to make it short. Mr. N and I were going to a super awesome and super fun couples retreat through our church. Mama and Papa Newman were going to take the boys for a whole week (yes I said whole week, I’m blessed to have these people in my life watch my boys for that long), but…being that we live in the wonderful state we do, we had an awful snow storm the night before. I can’t remember exactly how many inches of snow we did end up getting, but the roads were awful, and there was blizzard conditions throughout most of the state the day of the retreat, ugh.

They are dubbing this winter we’re having the worst winter ever. I would have to agree. Mr. N and his family are a snowmobiling family, so they love winter right? Even he’s done with winter.

Don’t fret. Mr. N and I got the boys to their grandparents and we went to the retreat, but it took us 7 1/2 hours. Yep. Iit would have probably taken us 4 hours-ish. But being as the roads were just nasty, it took us longer. By the time we got to the retreat I was a tad grumpy. Any who, I calmed down and had an awesome time.

I’m enjoying my time without my boys but I do miss the little turkey’s.

Today’s recipe comes from my good friend Mrs. K.  Hi Mrs. K! *wave*

So there’s a funny story behind this recipe.  Mrs. K sent me and some of her other friends/family a couple of recipes for us to check out. They seemed interesting and I wanted to try them. I had it on our menu for this last Sunday, ok? Well on Saturday Mrs. K and her hubby invited Mr. N and I over for games and supper and we couldn’t pass up the opportunity to hang out with them more, because they’re just that fun! Anywho, she told me that she’ll be making her white sauce lasagna. Sounds yummy right? Yeah, I didn’t’ realize that this white sauce lasagna was one in the same as the recipe I’m bringing you today!

Without further adieu, three cheese sausage lasagna or white sauce lasagna.

DSC_0244 copy copy

DSC_0192 copy

So you’ll need pretty much everything that in this picture, plus a couple of more items.

You’ll want to get your noodles going and cooked before you venture into this process. I like to cook mine before I dive into the rest of the parts to recipe. That way if I end of having to handle the noodles, I don’t burn my pretty little hand. :)

DSC_0216 copy

Then you’ll want to start to brown your sausage. I probably had a little more than what was actually needed because where we get our groceries they didn’t have just one pounder italian sausage. But that’s ok, I like this stuff!

DSC_0222 copy

Speaking of where we get groceries, in case you can’t tell from the product labels in the picture above, we go to HyVee. Yay HyVee! Earlier this week the company announced that they will be coming to the Twin Cities! WOOT!! I’m super excited.

Next you’re going to throw butter in a sauce pan and heat that up until it’s all melty.

Mmmm butter.

DSC_0202 copy

DSC_0225 copy

Basically we’re making the white sauce here. Flour, butter, milk and salt -n-peppa :)

See? Sauce.

DSC_0228 copy

Here comes the fun part. Layering!

I’m going to be honest. I totally screwed this part up. I don’t know how but I did.

I forgot the cheese.

DSC_0208 copy

How can I forget the cheese? It’s the best part!!

Sorry cheese.

DSC_0230 copy

All ready to go into the oven. You’re going to want preheat the oven to 350, throw it in for 35 minutes.

DSC_0232 copy

**DROOL**

DSC_0236 copy

This is soooo good. I’m really shocked though, when we did eat this at Mr. and Mrs. K’s house I saw the spinach and I had an inner monologue going “he’s not going to like it, he’s not going to like it”…Mr. N does not eat spinach and he loved it. So, thanks to Mrs. K  for making this and societal convention making  him eat it! :)

DSC_0244 copy

Now its your turn to try it!

Three Cheese Sausage Lasagna

Ingredients:

1.5 pounds mild Italian sausage

1/3 c. chopped onion

6 T butter

6  T flour

1 tsp salt

1 tsp pepper

3 c milk

9 lasagna noodles, cooked and drained

1 1/2 c shredded mozzarella cheese

18 slices provolone cheese

1/3 c grated romano cheese

2-3 c. fresh baby spinach (do not use frozen)

What to do:

In a large skillet cook sausage and onion, drain and set aside. In a small sausage, melt butter, whisk in flour, salt and pepper until smooth. Gradually whisk in the milk. Bring to a boil over medium-low heat, cook and stir for 2-3 minutes or until thickened. Remove from heat.

In a greased 9×13 baking dish, layer a fourth of the sauce, three noodles, half the sausage, half the spinach, 1/2 cup of the mozzarella cheese and 6 slices of provolone. Repeat this layers once.

Spoon half the remaining sauce over the top of these layers. Then add remaining noodles, sauce, and mozzarella and provolone cheese and top with all the romano cheese.

Bake uncovered at 350 for 35, let stand for 15 minutes before serving. Makes 12 servings.

2 thoughts on “Three Cheese Sausage Lasagna

  1. This is an awesome post! Great recipe, and, AWESOME photos. You are doing a fantastic job with this blog, Steph. Keep up the nice work!,

    Like

Leave a Reply

