Brain Dump

I’m going to warn you now.

I’m brain dumping on you people.

Some of those who really know me and have been reading/following my blog for quite sometime have known that I love love love, taking pictures. I don’t have photography business, though that would be awesome but I don’t want to step on my friends who are photographers and take business away from them. Honestly, that type of photography is not at all what I’m interested in either. I love taking pictures of random junk, nature and well my kids at random moments. But this isn’t the point of my brain dump.

Again, those who have followed me know that I have done photo-a-day challenges. One was with Fat Mum Slim. I have no idea how I got around to finding her and joining in on the challenge but it was fun and awesome..for a while. I did it mostly last summer when it was nicer out and I could actually go outside and take pictures using the wonderful natural light we do get in the summer and not have to put on a million things to stay warm. I stopped doing her photo-a-day thing because it was hard to see all the pictures that were posted that day and I honestly felt that more and more actual photographers were being brought into the group and my pictures looked like crap next to theirs.

Since then, I joined a different one, one that wasn’t strictly on Facebook but through a separate website. I loved being able to see all the pictures that were posted that day. More people were apt to post a comment on my picture if they wanted to than just the people who posted like a couple of minutes before I posted mine. I enjoyed it for a while but as of late I’ve noticed that after I post my picture, because I generally do it in the morning, other people in the group post pretty much the same thing! It’s like these people don’t have a creative bone in their body. For example, the list for the month is sent out like a couple of days before the month is to start ok? I looked at last month’s list and I noticed that there was one that said “Conversation” I knew what I was going to do for that prompt. I took pictures of those Conversation Hearts, days before the prompt came up,

conversation 2-13-14

I even did some of these for the other prompts that were coming up like, ” Little Heart” “Red”

a little heart 2-9-14

Red 2-12-14

Granted, yes I knew that it was around Valentines Day and Conversation Hearts were out, but there are other ways of conveying conversation instead of doing what everyone else is doing.

As far as the other two I posted here. The little heart one, so the one that looks like I drew it….someone totally copied that one. Like it was almost plagiarized. Color and all. I was pissed. And the heart one, someone else did this too..

Why do people have to copy each other? Really?

I mean I know imitation is a form of flattery but I don’t even know these people. Mr. N asked one day after I told him that someone copied one of my pictures, why I was still doing it. The only thing I could think of was that I really do like taking pictures and seeing what other people do for the prompt.

Another thing about my photo-a-day thing is that I’m getting burnt out. I really don’t have any motivation to get my camera out and take pictures. I think it’s the winter. I hate this winter, and I’ll be glad that it’s over. I just don’t know if I should continue. I started making a photo scrapbook with the pictures I’ve taken so far with this photo-a-day group. But I don’t want to quit, I want to be able to complete this, you know? I’m currently four days behind in this group and I don’t know what I want to do for the prompts.

I don’t know what to do.

Any advice?

6 thoughts on “Brain Dump

    • In reply to @heartloveshome ^, I think telling Steph to “take the photos for yourself and place in your scrapbook” is the rudest advice you could have given her. Notwithstanding the fact that you nominated her for the Liebster, that kind of advice makes me wonder how to take your comment. Were you sincerely trying to help, or were you eliminating the competition? I think she was asking for advice on how to use her talent and passion for photography in a way that she can share it with the world. Not hide it in order to protect it from people that copycat or infringe on copyright. Wow, I really think you missed the mark.

      Okay, deep breath…

      Steph, you wrote something in the beginning of this post that really got my attention. You said, “Some of those who really know me and have been reading/following my blog for quite sometime have known that I love love love, taking pictures. I don’t have photography business, though that would be awesome but I don’t want to step on my friends who are photographers and take business away from them. Honestly, that type of photography is not at all what I’m interested in either. I love taking pictures of random junk, nature and well my kids at random moments. But this isn’t the point of my brain dump.”

      First off, you have a niche. Like you said above, many of your friends, and far too many “mommy bloggers/photogs” are saturating the market for “that type of photography”. You don’t have to do that type of photography. You can start up your own business doing your type of photos. Think about the market for stock photos on the net. Sure, there will always be the problem of copyright, etc, but there is certainly a market for photographers that do the type of work you do. So, if you ever started doing the photo stuff as a business, you don’t have to do babies, weddings, families, grads, etc. DO WHAT YOU DO! You won’t step on anybody’s toes, and quite frankly, even if you did a few family photog shoots, so what…you will have made your mark otherwise. (It’s too bad I can’t get past a lot of security issues at work…you would be shooting for my book which, sadly due to said issues, will be photo-less in it’s first printing).

      Second, these contests and photo-a-day and mommy blogger promos are ridiculous. The level of passive aggression in the mommy blogger world is of the charts…everyone wants a piece of the market and the attention. My advice is that if you are getting nothing out of them, and they seem to be draining on you (especially if people are copying you) then quit them.

      Third, I would be remiss if I didn’t tie in something faith related here (afterall, that is how we became friends is through our common faith). Talents should be used in a way that you think God has his plans laid out for you. It’s hard for people to grasp this, because thinking “how can my talent be put to work by God” doesn’t come on as a lightbulb moment. But, I truly believe, if you put your mind to it, pray earnestly about it, and be intentional on figuring out where your photography talents can be put to use in a way that that furthers the work God has planned for you in his kingdom here on earth, you will succeed.

      That’s all I have to say here. We can discuss more privately via email, or in person, if you are interested.

      Like

      • Thanks Kris for your thoughts. I have tried to sell some of my pictures on etsy but it didn’t work as well as I had hoped. I guess I’m just going to continue taking pictures for me and maybe looking into doing something for stock photos who knows. I have to admit, that would be pretty flippin’ cool to take pictures for your book, stupid security! :) But I think I’d want to get some better equipment before I venture into something like that.

        Like

      • That is not what I meant by that. The reason I said what I said was because it seemed like she wasn’t enjoying posting anymore, but she enjoyed creating a book for herself. I’m sorry that my comment read that way.

        Like

  1. I know you had done/are doing the etsy thing. I think, however, if you really wanted to go for it/go all in, you would have to go about it a wholly different way. I don’t know what equipment you have, but I don’t think you need to invest into anything new to get started. You clearly have a unique eye for the type of pictures you like to do, and they are turning out well with what equipment you already have. I think the biggest part of it would be planning/preparing a model for how you want to work/use/monetize your talent, and then breaking into the “new market” with some initial products and clients. It’s all in how you go about it. This isn’t turnkey stuff, but rather something that takes time….like working a garden. Plan, plant, care, grow, harvest.

    Like

    • Thanks again Kris..I’m going to have to really think this through. If you have any ideas on how I can get started let me know. I just don’t know where to begin. Will you be at church tonight?

      Like

Leave a Reply

